A New Beginning

Every new beginning is some other beginning’s end.

Even though this is my first post on Wandrin’ Round at WordPress, I’m not a newbie to the blogging experience.  I maintain a personal blog called Whimsey Pie where I try to write once a week about whatever happens to be meandering through my brain.  I’ve also been documenting my travels here for the last year.  After realizing that I’m producing many travel-themed posts at Whimsey Pie and because I’m growing increasingly frustrated with the limitations of the blogging platform at Travellerspoint, I’ve decided to start a second blog here at WordPress.  And so, the time has come to say goodbye to my very first travel blog and hello to my newest blogging endeavor.  I intend this fresh Wandrin’ Round to be a record of my travel experiences, a compendium of cool places around my home that are worth a visit, and occasional thoughts on anything travel related.  Because I travel rather sporadically, I won’t be posting on a regular basis.  Alas, that’s just the nature of the subject matter.

I was in the midst of writing about our February cruise to Mexico and side trip to Universal Resort in Orlando when Travellerspoint started giving me fits.  Over the next few days, I’ll share what I’ve already posted and then pick up where I left off.  To set the stage, here’s a little overview.  We sailed out of Tampa on Jewel of the Sea, a ship belonging to Royal Caribbean’s Radiance Class which carries about 2,500 passengers.  Believe or not, its one of the smaller ships in the fleet.  The itinerary was a five night cruise with ports of call in Cozumel and Costa Maya.  We traveled with our kids in two staterooms – an inside triple (for them) and an outside double with a window (for us).  Our rooms were located on Deck 2 (the lowest level) which I liked because we were away from the hubbub of activities.  Hubby, however, insisted on calling us bilge rats.  We had perfect weather, except for embarkation, and smooth waters.  For a first cruise, we couldn’t have asked for better sailing conditions or a cleaner, prettier ship.  Following the cruise we spent three days in Orlando visiting Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, Boma at Animal Kingdom Lodge, and Ripley’s Believe It or Not.  To be honest, this part of the trip was planned to satisfy our daughter’s Harry Potter obession.  Orlando had its ups and downs but, all in all, we had a great time away together.

And so, there it is – the general scheme of our latest, rather indulgent expedition.  Stay tuned for the juicy details!

Leave a Reply

